Playground Elite

Member Area
News and Updates PDF Print E-mail
  • Arike Ogunbowale - Wisconsin Player of the Year & other Playground Elite members that were selected to All State teams:
  • Amani Wilborn - 4th team All State
  • Allazia Blockton - Honorable Mention All State
  • Adaysha Williams - Honorable Mention All State
  • Caitlyn Russell - Honorable Mention All State

  • Congratulations to the 7th grade boys who finished in the Top 10 teams in the Country at the 2011 AAU Nationals.
  • Congratulations to the 8th grade girls who have won the 2011 AAU National Championship on their first trip to AAU Nationals.

Congratulations to the following teams at the 2011 Wisconsin State AAU Championships:

  • 8th grade girls - State Champions
  • 7th grade boys / Smith - State Champions (4 time State Champions)
  • 8th grade boys - State Champions
  • 6th grade boys - State Runner Ups

Congratulations to our Boy's Wisconsin Playground Elite player:

Nimrod Hilliard - Madison East who was named Wisconsin's - 2011 Mr. Basketball. (South Dakota recruit)

Congratulations to the Girl's U13 / 8th grade & U15 / 10th grade on their National Divison 1st place finishes at the USJN Windy City Classic in Waukgean, Illinois in April 2011.

Congratulations to two of our Wi. Playground Elite - 2012 players:

Terri Bender / Milwaukee Pius - 2012 
Deysha Smith - Jenkins / Whitefish Bay Dominican - 2012 

on both being invited to attend the Nike Girl's Skills Academy in Minnesota in May 2011.

Big Kudos & Congratulations to two of our Wi. Playground Elite players:

Adaysha Williams / Lacrosse Logan - 2013

Deysha Smith - Jenkins / Whitefish Bay Dominican - 2012

that have also been invited to attend the prestigious USA Basketball - open trial tryouts for the U16 & U17 USA National teams in Colorado Springs, Colorado in June 2011. Good luck to both young ladies and we wish you well. Keep up the hard work. Represent the State of Wisconsin.

Congratulations to both of the following Playground Elite teams: 2010 Prime Time Sports National Champions:
7th grade girls (2015) & 6th grade boys (2016)

Congratulations to the Playground Elite:
2010 AAU National Championships (10th place finish):
7th grade boys (2015)

Congratulations to the Playground Elite:
2010 Prime Time Sports National Championships (5th place finish)
5th grade boys (2017)

Congratulations to:
Katy Allen (2011) who has verbally committed to attend University of Pennsylvania / Div. 1
Carly Lythjohan (2011) who has verbally committed to attend the University of Indianapolis / Div. 2

Congratulations to the following female players that have one or more Div. 1 scholarship offers extended to them:

Tynika Rogers (2011)
Tierra Bender (2011)
Dyesha Jenkins (2012)
Terri Bender (2012)
Mehryn Kraker (2012)
Eileen Van Horn (2012)
Dilonna Johnson (2012)

NEW for the 2010 Grassroot Season

NIKE, Inc. has announced the launch of its inaugural EYBL (Elite Youth Basketball League) featuring it’s forty-two (42) elite travel team programs beginning this spring with four 17 & under events, culminating with the EYBL Finals at the NIKE Peach Jam in North Augusta, SC from July 12-15, 2010.

The EYBL will tip-off at the Boo Williams Sportsplex in Hampton, VA from April 9-11. The final two regular season events will be held at League America in Houston, TX on May 14-16 and in Los Angeles, CA over Memorial Day Weekend (May 29-31) at a to be determined location. For a look at the teams and schedules CLICK HERE

In addition to the EYBL, the front-end of the summer is designed to help players through skill development. The nation’s best underclassmen tip-off the summer at the NIKE Hoop Jamboree in St. Louis from June 10-13. At the end of June, the elite high school players throughout the country are selected to attend a positional Skills Academy with Utah’s Deron Williams (point guards), Boston’s Paul Pierce (wings), Oklahoma City’s Kevin Durant (wings) and Phoenix’s Amar’e Stoudemire (forwards/centers) held separately over June 24-30 in Chicago, IL, followed by a culminating academy for all players with reigning MVP LeBron James at the University of Akron from July 5-7. All five Skills Academies will be closed to college coaches for the participants to focus on improving themselves in both an individual and team setting with special situation drills.

“NIKE is committed to providing a platform for the top high school players to improve their game with an assist from the top players in the NBA and the best instructors in the game of basketball during our skills academies” said Mike Hackman, NIKE’s Elite Youth Director. “The addition of the EYBL provides an organized and exciting format for these elite athletes to consistently compete against the best players.”

Following a successful first year, the King City Classic will return to Cleveland State University’s Wolstein Center in Cleveland, Ohio on July 8-9. The event is designed for the nation’s top 80 high school players to compete head-to-head in a national tournament. Hundreds of college coaches, scouts and media are expected to attend.

The 42 Nike sponsored travel teams for 2010 are as follows:

* Albany City Rocks
* Baltimore Elite
* Georgia Blazers
* Howard Pulley
* Louisiana Select
* Mean Streets
* Team Final
* Tennessee Travelers
* Wisconsin Playground Elite
* All-Ohio Red
* Arizona Stars
* Each One Teach One
* King James
* South Carolina Ravens
* Seattle Rotary
* Spiece
* Team Takeover
* Team Texas
* The Family
* Alabama Challenge
* Athletes First
* Birmingham Storm
* Boo Williams
* California Supreme
* Houston Hoops
* Jackson Tigers
* Oakland Soldiers
* St. Louis Eagles
* Arkansas Wings
* Charlotte Royals
* D-One Sports
* Friends of Hoop
* Georgia Stars
* Mac Irvin Fire
* Metro Hawks
* New Jersey Playaz
* New York Gauchos
* Southern Kings
* Team Florida